Toymods » Tech & Conversions » Options for a stock 77 Corona with 18R

Show: Today's Posts  :: Show Polls 
Email to friend 
Switch to threaded view of this topic Create a new topic Submit Reply
AuthorTopic
juventino
Occasional Poster

November 2003
icon5.gif  Options for a stock 77 Corona with 18R Mon, 10 November 2003 00:44 Go to next message
Hi guys, i know im a newbie here, but iv looked in many other threads about engine work or conversions, but im still confused Confused

Below is my corona....

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-11/480192/corona_bay1.jpg
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-11/480192/Image2.jpg
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-11/480192/Image9.jpg

I'v now had it for about 7 months, it was given to me by my brother who had it for about a year, and before that it was my mothers. It's been a part of the family for a while, and i love driving it and its hard to do part with it.

It's auto, its got about 266 thousand k's on the clock, and its totaly stock, apart from the custom metalic orange respray, driving lights, other eletrical components, etc. There are some spots of rust, but if im going to be spending time on the engine, I wont mind cutting the paint back and getting rid of the rust. Transmision is not bad, 10,000k's ago the reverse gear and 1st were reconditioned (i think). There are other minor things that need attention.

I'm looking at gaining extra preformance (but not looking for 13sec 1/4 mile Razz) , so what are my options? Is it worth re-conditioning the engine, and then doing some modifications? If so what can be done? Or should i just get rid of the 18R itself, and find somethign else that will fit straight in without any welding or any other changes to drivetrain, etc.? Or should I just chuck the thing down to the wreckers and not bother, and spend $6000 on something else?

Thoughts? Comments? Advice?

Thanks guys Cool
  Send a private message to this user    
coronamark2
Forums Junkie

May 2003