Email to friend 
Switch to threaded view of this topic Create a new topic Submit Reply
AuthorTopic
7M-Brisbane
Forums Junkie

November 2002
Turbo manifold design Thu, 06 May 2004 23:41 Go to next message
Hi guys

I have a 1JZGTE for which I am getting a custom turbo manifold made up. I am using a CT26 due to fitment and budget reasons. This will be hiflowed down the track, with the aim of getting approx 420-450hp crank.

I was just wondering what people's thoughts were on manifold design in this specific situation.

I have not really dealt with this much, but my general understanding is that larger diameter or longer runners suit top end, and smaller diameter or shorter runners are better for response. Please correct me if I'm wrong, as I said I'm a bit of a newbie on this particular topic. Also I'm sure that's a little bit too general... how big is 'big' and how short is 'short'

The car is actually using an automatic gearbox, so I have no real concerns about it being a little sluggish to build boost. Main thing is that I don't want to compromise top-end performance, as I want the thing to rev out to redline with no dramas (anyone with a 1JZ will know that the stock twins start to lose puff at about 14psi and 6100rpm).

If anyone has examples (pictures would be helpful), suggestions or theory on the subject, please let me know!

I am also considering doing an 'upside-down' manifold, I was wondering if anyone had experience with this. A friend was going to do it but was concerned it might trap heat in the general turbo area.

Cheers

Leigh
  Send a private message to this user    
robs
Regular

July 2003
Re: Turbo manifold design Fri, 07 May 2004 00:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message