Toymods Car Club
www.toymods.org.au
F.A.Q. F.A.Q.    Register Register    Login Login    Home Home
Members Members    Search Search
Toymods » Tech & Conversions » Putting 100kW in 1990 AE92 Corolla CS?

Show: Today's Posts  :: Show Polls 
Email to friend 
Switch to threaded view of this topic Create a new topic Submit Reply
AuthorTopic
galtaforce
Newcomer

October 2002
icon5.gif  Putting 100kW in 1990 AE92 Corolla CS? Thu, 10 October 2002 13:29 Go to next message
Hi,
I'm no expert at engine conversions and was wondering what would be involved in ripping out my poor standard 65kW carby engine and replacing it with a 100kW job. As my car has no EFI and the standard transmission I am sure it would be a serious effort and prolly involve replacing other drivetrain parts. But, if someone has tried this or can tell that this is a baaaad idea (as I am too writing this Smile ) please let me know. Also an approximate figure on cost would be nice too.

Thanks Heaps,

Galta.
  Send a private message to this user    
inertia
Forums Junkie

May 2002
Re: Putting 100kW in 1990 AE92 Corolla CS? Fri, 11 October 2002 00:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
You will need a Frontcut, which will contain almost everything needed. 100Kw Frontcut's go for under $2000.

You will also need;

new fuel lines
AE92 EFi Tank with Pump and Filler Piper. $200ish
AE92 100Kw Radiator if the frontcut's one is beyond repair.

Ummm, too early in the morning to think for me Shocked

Will reply with more stuff.

Basically the engine and gearbox will bolt in with minimal trouble, maybe having to switch some of the mounts around between frontcut mounts and the one's currently in your car.

You may want to look at the 20valve 4AGE whiile your at it, or if you are feeling devilish, the 4AGZE. Got Insurance?
partyjase
Regular

June 2002
Re: Putting 100kW in 1990 AE92 Corolla CS? Fri, 11 October 2002 00:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sorry to cut into but