Toymods » Tech & Conversions » "Project T" for turbocharging

Show: Today's Posts  :: Show Polls 
Email to friend 
Switch to threaded view of this topic Create a new topic Submit Reply
AuthorTopic
TRD086
Occasional Poster

October 2002
icon4.gif  "Project T" for turbocharging Sun, 13 October 2002 13:27 Go to next message
Hey Guys !!!!

Really need some help here, I don't know jack all about modifying cars..

Basically I want to turbocharge my 4ag sprinter, but don't know which aftermarket computer to use. Can all aftermarket comp can recognise turbo charge engine? Can anyone suggest some name and model to me? Please keep in mine that i'm a uni student and i don't have much money. Sad

Another thing.. cause i'm going for a tight-ars conversion, can anyone recommend me any low boost turbo i can use to turbocharge my 4ag while retaining the same compression..

By the way what is a waste gate used for... and would it to turbo charge the engine...

thanks guys much appreciated.........
  Send a private message to this user    
mrshin
Forums Junkie

May 2002

Re: "Project T" for turbocharging Sun, 13 October 2002 23:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Hate to put a dampener on things, but keep in mind that these things always cost a LOT more than you'd like them to - and if you do try and get away without spending something now (e.g. using an NA 4age to begin with), it'll cost you more later... Where abouts you live?
Nark
Forums Junkie

May 2002
      Nark@toymods.net/Work
Re: "Project T" for turbocharging Mon, 14 October 2002 00:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
I would suggest doing it in two stages...

Drop a 4A-GZE in there. Prolly costs the same as a turbo conversion.

Then when you have enough money, throw the supercharger away and pop on a turbo.

That way you have an engine which was made to run boost. Much stronger, and you can run higher boost.
rob_RA40
Forums Junkie

May 2002