Show: Today's Posts  :: Show Polls 
Email to friend 
Switch to threaded view of this topic Create a new topic Submit Reply
AuthorTopic
Leighp
Forums Junkie

I supported Toymods

May 2002

icon11.gif  Is it a Carbie or i dunno Mon, 31 October 2005 23:43 Go to next message
When at idle my 4ac will shudder and go to stall. Does anyone have a solution to this problem, it is a stock standard 4ac, auto and previously had no probs.

Also when i looked at the carb there is a screw at the rear, what does that do?

I have had no experience with carbs, EFI i know but carbs no, please advise.

cheers
Leeroy

[Updated on: Mon, 31 October 2005 23:57]

Send a private message to this user    
oldcorollas
Forums Junkie

January 2003

Re: Is it a Carbie or i dunno Tue, 01 November 2005 03:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
does it do it mostly when hot etc?

it may be a long shot, but on my mums 4AC, the ignition module was failing intermittently. what would happen is that the idle would drop, and you had to bump it way up to idle.. then when the prob stopped, it would idle around 3grand.. it would randomly start and stop occuring

it kept happening more and more until we figured it was the ignition, swapped the ignitor, and no more probs Wink

so yeah.. if you can borrow an ignitor to check.. might be a good idea
tricky
Regular

July 2005
Re: Is it a Carbie or i dunno Tue, 01 November 2005 03:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
I presume the idle is low?

If so, there should be a screw on the throttle linkage. Screw this in such that with no pedal pressure, the throttle is slightly more open. This will stop the stall problem, but chances are the mixtures will also be out. For this, you have three options: take it to someone else to tune it, play with the mixture screw yourself and hope for the best, or get yourself a manometer, do some reading and tune it properly.
Leighp
Forums Junkie

I supported Toymods

May 2002